What do you do?

One of the most difficult questions that people get asked on a daily basis is “What do you do?” The most common response is that we go ahead and tell people what we do, so for example, “I work for a clothing company” and to be honest not a lot of people take much notice as not many people really care what we do.

However, the best way to answer this question is to tell people “Why we do what we do” Obviously, this takes a lot of practice as the natural response is to tell people what we do, but only with a little bit of practice this can be achieved and tell people why you do what you do will just feel like a natural response.

So an example of this is if you find yourself in an interview scenario and if someone were to ask you what do you do, and I wasn’t starting with why, I’d expect a lot of people to reply with the following, “Hello, my name is Keith, I have a degree in Computer Science, I’m a professional Gambler. I also have a blog where I try to inspire people.” Then I’d go through all the places I’ve worked and the people I’ve worked with and what I’ve learned and so on, you get the picture. All this is to tell the person who I am and what I do and why they should listen to me. But the problem with this type of response is that it’s very generic and very common as nearly every single person answers this very question in the exact same way.

On the other hand, in my opinion, the best way to answer this question is tell someone why you do what do and this sounds a lot like this, “I wake up every morning to inspire people to do what inspires them. I know that your company is trying to increase the number of customers it’s getting in a certain area, and the question is are you inspiring people to do it? Because the only way people will give you loyalty is if you inspire them to do so.”

You don’t even need to tell the person what you do and what you know. This can come later, a why doesn’t close the conversation, it’s just the opener as it allows people in and gives them context. Don’t forget that why you do what you do, how you do things and what you do are all equally important, it’s just vital that you start with the why. But on the same note, it’s often the one we forget to include.

So I’d really recommend learning to start with why especially in a business context because the results can be remarkable.

If you enjoyed this post, be sure to give me a follow.

Keith ✌🏼

Leave a Reply

